Select a database category below or select "Expand/Contract Questions and Answers" to view all NPL databases. Most databases require your 13 digit library card number.
Premier platform for business and company research providing detailed information on over 60,000 publicly traded companies globally. Mergent Online is a great database for stock and investment research. Features of the service include investment research reports on over 5,500 companies, with full company history, over 500,000 corporate annual reports and 30 years of historical stock pricing.
Mergent Intellect provides private company data on over 110 million privately held companies globally and allows you the ability to download the data to a spreadsheet – up to 2,000 records at a time. This is the most comprehensive database available for private company data. This service also contains information on over 200 million individuals through WhitePages Pro and executive contacts on over 90 million professional decision makers. A job search function is also included with this service. Also included is global family tree information
Moody’s Historical Manual Collection providing you with every Moody’s Manual back to 1909.
Mergent First Research provides industry profiles, state profiles, call prep sheets and news and social content that will help you engage key prospects and deepen client relationships.
Business Economics and Theory Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. The database has an emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography.
Use this database to find articles on: Finance, Acquisitions and Mergers, International Trade, Money Management, New Technologies and Products, Local and Regional Business Trends, Investments and Banking.
Small Business Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines perfect for both business school students and entrepreneurs. The database offers content that includes insights, tips, strategies and success stories.
Business Insights: Essentials combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface designed around the research goals and workflows of your diverse business research community. Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
The premier source of business and residential information for reference and research. Includes current job postings for thousands of listed companies.
This periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text) for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. [For remote access, use your 13-digit library card number as your password.]
This database is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. [For remote access, use your 13-digit library card number as your password.]
Kids InfoBits meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. [For remote access, use your 13-digit library card number as your password.]
A kid-friendly interface of articles that explore events and facts about plants, animals, fossils, science, math, the earth, health, sports, people, arts, geography, and important problems. Reading levels are designated as easy, medium, and advanced for ease of use. Also, games, pictures, and activities.
Containing every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more. This database has state-of-the-art multimedia, maps, editor-reviewed Web sites, and more.
Literati Public includes a host of resources such as educational content for K-12 students and adults, informational videos and tutorials, and interactive discovery tools. Literati Public has been specifically customized for Virginia Libraries.
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images! [For remote access, use your 13-digit library card number as your password.]
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use Gale General Reference to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images. Find the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more. [For remote access, use your 13-digit library card number as your password.]
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. [For remote access, use your 13-digit library card number as your password.]
Full-text of the Virginian-Pilot from 1990 to the current edition. Searches magazines, books, Virginia and international newspapers, pictures, maps, TV and radio transcripts, and reference books. [For remote access, use the first 5 numbers of your library card.]
Historical New York Times (1851-2010), Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), Washington Post (1877-1997), Los Angeles Times (1881-1990), The Christian Science Monitor (1908-2000)
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center). The ERIC database (1966-July 2004) contains 1.1 million bibliographic citations to a broad collection of education-related resources. ERIC also provides users with online access to the full-text of approximately 107,000 ERIC documents (published in 2003 or earlier, and indexed January 1993 - July 2004) in PDF image format. [Access is free and open to all.]
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [For remote access, use your 13-digit library card number as your password.]
Free study guides on a variety of standardized tests commonly utilized for admissions, licensing, and educational assessment. Study guides are available for: Accuplacer, ACT, AHSGE, ASSET, ASVAB, CAAP, CAHSEE, CBEST, CDL, CHSPE, CLAST, CPAt, CUNY, FCAT, FTCE, GED, GHSGT, GMAT, GRE, HOBET, HSPT, ISEE, MAT, MCAT, NCLEX-RN, CLEX-PN, Nursing Entrance, ParaPro, PCAT, Praxis I, PSAT, SAT, SSAT, TABE, TASP, TCAP, and THEA.
Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet their financial needs. Take online practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals. [Use your 13-digit library card number to access tests from home.]
Pronunciator has 80 languages to learn in various methods and at multiple levels. If English is your second language, Pronunciator has 50 languages of origination. There are native apps for all Android and Apple devices so you can use your mobile devices and Pronunciator uses Feature films and Music for full immersion as well as Audio lessons; Phrasebooks, plus a Custom Course Designer. You can access the Spanish version here.
Oxford Reference Library is an online collection of in-depth, specialist content from Oxford's award-winning Encyclopedias and Companions, as well as a critical selection of partner publishers’ scholarly works. These major reference titles are available to access online exclusively through Oxford Reference.
Each title is fully cross-searchable with over 300,000 free Overview pages, 275 free Timelines, and featured topical entries available on Oxford Reference providing you with a full researchº pathway. [For remote access, log in using your library card number.]
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online; the definitive record for the English Language. Browse the whole dictionary from A to Z or browse words by subject, usage, region, or origin. Discover when words entered the English language or the top 1000 authors and works quoted in the OED. [For remote access, log in using your library card number.]
- Very Short Introductions provide the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly, with expert authors making often challenging topics highly readable. Each title is fully searchable. Multiple students are able to read assigned chapters, or whole books, cross-referencing from one title to another, and extracting references and quotations as required. Use VSI for Art and Humanities, Medicine and Health, Law, Social Science, Science and Mathematics.
Do a Google search on the Google Print homepage. If the search finds a book whose content matches your search terms, a link is displayed to your search results. Click a book title and you will see the page of the book that has your search terms, along with other information about the book. You can view the entirety of public domain books or, for books under copyright, just a few pages or in some cases, only the bibliographic data and brief snippets.
The Whats Next: Books in Series database helps you search series fiction, two or more books linked by characters, settings, or other common traits. When you find the list of books in the series, search the NPL online catalog for title availability.
The TumbleBook Library is a collection of animated, talking picture books, suited for elementary school children. TumbleBooks are created from existing picture books, adding sound, animation, music and narration to create an electronic picture book.
OverDrive is a collection of popular and best selling eBook titles that you can borrow online through your Norfolk Public Library account. The book will expire when the lending term is up, so no more overdues!
Project Gutenberg is the first free eBook library! It hosts over 42,000 previously published books for download or online reading. Project Gutenberg is accessible via computer, ereader, or mobile device.
An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors. Each CLC-Select entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal works and sources for further study. [For remote access, use your 13-digit library card number as your password.]
The collection provides historical, personal and professional information about the inhabitants of cities in Virginia and information about the city’s civic, social, benevolent and literary organizations from 1801-1929. [For remote access, use the password infopower]
Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with 600,000+ biographical entries — on more than 528,000 individuals — spanning history and geography. Just like all the new revolutionary Gale In Context products, it’s a curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content in context that's updated daily to meet the needs of today’s user.
Biographical profiles of important persons of African heritage. Multinational coverage spans the century and includes rising personalities as well as groundbreakers and newsmakers in a variety of fields. [For remote access, use your 13-digit library card number as your password.]
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with articles from the Norfolk Journal and Guide, 1921-2003. [For remote access, use your 13-digit library card number.]
Approximately 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods. Includes thousands of photos, a consolidated index, and more.
Dedicated to making Virginia historical highway markers conveniently accessible and relevant to a wider audience. Includes access to historical highway markers for Norfolk, Tidewater, and women in Virginia history.
Full-text primary source documents in American history with expert analysis and commentary.
Online access to detailed historical street maps showing locations and owners of houses and businesses in Virginia towns and cities. Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. [For remote access for Library card holders please contact Library staff. For special assistance using this resource call the Sargeant Memorial Room at 664-7323 ext. 43736.]
More than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases -- includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. [This database is available only inside the Library.]
Combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized genealogy, local history, U.S. Census and Revolutionary War content. Includes the Freedman’s Bank records. [For remote access, use the first five digits of your library card number.]
A chronicle of the state’s history, politics, and geography through the perspectives of all the ethnically, culturally, and linguistically diverse peoples who have lived there. [Free database. No Logon Required.]
Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. [For remote access, use the password infopower]
Civil War generals’ reports of service from 1864-1887 representing an attempt by the Adjutant General’s Office (AGO) to obtain more complete records of the service of the various Union generals serving in the Civil War. Most of the reports consist of chronologically arranged sketches of activities associated with battles and other engagements including battle accounts of First Bull Run, Second Bull Run, Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, and Chickamauga. [For remote access, use the password infopower]
- Confederate Newspapers Digital Archive: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama
This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative ’map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns’ in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial." [For remote access, use the password infopower]
Individually and collectively, the publication of these regimental histories and personal narratives constitute a source of great historical value. These first-person accounts, compiled in the postwar period and early 20th Century period, chronicle the highs and lows of army life from 1861 through 1865. [For remote access, use the password infopower]
More than 10,000 articles on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. [For remote access, log in using your library card number.]
Norfolk Public Library’s Historical Images. The images date from the late 19th century to the present and cover the Greater Hampton Roads Metropolitan Region of Virginia (Norfolk, Portsmouth, Chesapeake, Virginia Beach, Suffolk, Hampton, Newport News, Yorktown, Williamsburg, the Eastern Shore, Isle of Wight County and Surry County), and northeastern North Carolina and the Outer Banks. Please note that the images shown in the gallery are only a portion of those in our collections. With more than 60,000 images in our photographic collections, we have tried to select the best representation for our on-line gallery. We continue to add to the database, so we invite you to check back from time to time if you are looking for a specific image and do not find it initially. Please contact the Sargeant Memorial Collection staff if you have questions or need help looking for a specific image.
Full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of the Virginian-Pilot.
U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources. Diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people
Full text of the Daily Press from 1999 to the current edition. Searches magazines, books, Virginia and international newspapers, pictures, maps, TV and radio transcripts, and reference books. (For remote access, use the first five numbers of your library card.)
Popular news magazines such as The New Yorker, Parenting, Newsweek, Smithsonian, and 24 others.
A kid-friendly interface of articles that explore events and facts about plants, animals, fossils, science, math, the earth, health, sports, people, arts, geography, and important problems. Reading levels are designated as easy, medium, and advanced for ease of use. Also, games, pictures, and activities
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with articles from the Norfolk Journal and Guide, 1921-2003. [For remote access, use your 13-digit library card number]
Historical New York Times (1851-2010), Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), Washington Post (1877-1997), Los Angeles Times (1881-1990), The Christian Science Monitor (1908-2000)
This collection provides coverage of different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives. 250 subject specific full-text periodicals are included.
Oxford Biblical Studies Online (OBSO) includes biblical texts, authoritative reference works, and tools that provide ease of research into the background, context, and issues related to the Bible. OBSO is vetted by a team of leading scholars headed by Michael D. Coogan and is structured with a distinctive breadth and depth. It contains over 6,000 A-to-Z articles from major Oxford reference works, as well as six Bibles in a variety of denominations and the apocryphal texts from both the Old and New Testaments.Oxford Biblical Studies Online provides a wealth of information allowing users to easily navigate topical essays and access hundreds of searchable images and maps from significant scholarly publications. With an intuitive side-by-side environment for comparing different Bible texts and commentaries, as well as quick links to Bible passages cited in commentaries, OBSO provides stand-out researching capabilities in the field of Biblical studies. [For remote access, use username/password: norfolkva / norfolkva]
Includes magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments. Material is intended for informational purposes only. [For remote access, use your 13-digit library card number as your password.]
Suggested starting point for consumer health information. This site is a service of the National Library of Medicine. It contains detailed information on conditions, diseases and wellness, drug information, dictionaries, and directories plus a medical encyclopedia. Access is free. You do not need a library card to access this database.
Step-by-step repair procedures, diagnostics, maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls, and Technical Service Bulletins for automobiles and light trucks. [For remote access, use your 13-digit library card number as your password.]